Board Contacts

Dear Clergy Friends:

Our Board of Ordained Ministry is responsible for matters pertaining to certification, licensing, commissioning, ordination, and conference membership. As a team of clergy and laity, we interview and evaluate candidates for ministry and make recommendations to the clergy session of the Annual Conference. Also, we give attention to the recruitment and enlistment of ordained clergy who may serve in our conference in the future, and we offer support and development opportunities for clergy who are currently serving among us. Further, we provide guidance and oversight for clergy who are making changes in their conference relationship.

As chairperson of the Board of Ordained Ministry, I look forward to getting acquainted with you. Please make use of this guide as a reference to help you know whom to call when you have a question or need assistance. We suggest you keep this with your Conference journal.  Each of the persons listed below stands ready to assist you. However, if you are uncertain of whom you should call, please contact the Administrative Assistant for the Board, Sus’ann Busley at 517.347.4173 or [email protected].

Grace and peace,


Sherri L. Swanson

Chair, Board of Ordained Ministry

     Sherri L. Swanson, 269.756.2053, [email protected]

*Conference Relations (Changes in Clergy Status):
     Mark R. Erbes, 517.694.8168, [email protected]

*Registrar Full Membership (Elder’s & Deacon’s Orders, Ordination):
     Julie A. Greyerbiehl, 517.655.2430, [email protected]

*Registrar Provisional Membership (Elder’s & Deacon’s Orders, Commissioning):
     Julie A. Greyerbiehl, 517.655.2430, [email protected]

*Registrar Local Pastors and Associate Members:
Jodie R. Flessner, 616.891.8669, [email protected]

*Registrar Certified Candidates and DCOM:
Rob A. McPherson, 269.695.3282, [email protected]

*Support Chair:
Harris J. Hoekwater, 269.983.3929, [email protected]

*Recruitment Chair:
Mary L.B. Ivanov, 231.798.2181, [email protected]

     Carolin S. Spragg, 517.604.0755, [email protected]

*Treasurer/Loan Officer:
     Diane Gordon, 989.773.6934, [email protected]

*Order of Elders Chair:
     Dean N. Prentiss, 616.534.4411, [email protected]

*Order of Deacons Chair:
Gregory W. Lawton, 616.805.5407, [email protected]

*John Wesley Association Chair:
     Jeremy J. Wicks, 517.851.1494, [email protected]

*Cabinet Representative:
     William E. Haggard, 616.459.4503, [email protected]

*Laity Representative:
     Laurie Dahlman, 269.343.1490, [email protected]

*Certification in Specialized Ministry Registrar:
     Patricia L. Brook, 517.437.3681, [email protected]

Candidacy Summit Registrar:
     Devon R. Herrell, 231.796.8315, [email protected]

Grants Continuing Education, Renewal Leaves, Sabbatical Leaves, and Spiritual Formation Retreats:
Allen Horstman, 231.946.9314, [email protected]

Counseling Funds:
Harris J. Hoekwater, 269.9833929, [email protected]

Extension Ministry:
     Laurie Dahlman, 269.343.1490, [email protected]

Administrative Assistant to the Board:
    Sus’ann M. Busley, 517.347.4173, [email protected]

*Denotes Executive Committee